Hello Guest

Author Topic: Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)  (Read 2621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cyberalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I´m trying to install pandorafms and Babel on the same server (Ubuntu Jaunty) and after sucessfully install both of them i found that tentacle can only run one instance at once and put the data in the /var/****/data_in directory defined on the daemon. ¿Anybody have succesfully installed both of them with tentacle server runnig without problems and giving the data to their folder?
If you need more info please tell me.
Thanks in advance

Offline Manuel Arostegui

  • Global Moderator
  • Expert member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 08:06:03 PM »
Just change the name of the binary, just call it tentacle_server2 for instance.
Edit the /etc/init.d/tentacle_serverd and change the name there, as well as the port.

Copy /etc/init.d/tentacle_serverd to tentacle_serverd and there you are.

Offline cyberalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2009, 08:12:33 PM »
Thank Manu i`ll give a try and tell you,  Raúl tells me same option on spanish forum.
Thanks again

Offline Manuel Arostegui

  • Global Moderator
  • Expert member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2009, 08:14:31 PM »
What raul wrote is much more complex than this. With those changes you just need to copy and rename a couple of files and there you go.
No need to change anything in the agents and stuff.

Cheers
Manuel.

Offline cyberalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2009, 04:58:02 AM »
Hi Manu, i try what you tell me, but after do all (Including creating a link to the daemon  tentacle_server2 on rc2.d) and rebbot to try it gives me an error message indicating that "tentacle server could not be started" (In it´s first instance, modified one) but starts correctly the second one (not modified), i try to look the logs to identify the error but can locate it.

What i´m doing wrong?, did you probe it in a similar scenario?

Thanks in advance.
Alfredo.

Offline Manuel Arostegui

  • Global Moderator
  • Expert member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Karma: 50
    • View Profile
Babel and PandoraFMS on same machine (Problems with tentacle)
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2009, 04:37:04 PM »
You have to change the user and the perms in /var/spool/babel or /var/spool/pandora whichever you're modifying tentacle for.