Hello Guest

Author Topic: I cant get data :/  (Read 432 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline amanda7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
I cant get data :/
« on: October 04, 2016, 08:21:34 AM »
Hello everybody y was installed  pandora fms on mi computer  (windows 7), and i tried to do a text with host alive, to get data from te ping ,between the server and te router buit i cant get data, :( any  solution? i will pareciate so much

Offline antonio.s

  • Administrator
  • Smart member
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: I cant get data :/
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2016, 07:55:17 AM »
Hello,

Does the module ever initialize? Try executing a ping command against the IP you've used on the module, from your pandora fms server command line. If it works from command line, take a look at the pandora_server log files to see if they show some useful clues.

Kind regards,
Antonio.

Offline trahloc37

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: I cant get data :/
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 12:46:11 PM »
I'm having the exact same issue.  I created an agent to monitor the Pandora FMS 7.0 gateway (since if the gateway fails everything else will so it was going to be the 'parent' to all my other tests).  I can ping from the CLI, I can ping from the "Network Tools" section for my "Pandora Gateway".  /var/log/pandora/pandora_server.log shows nothing useful:

Quote
2017-04-06 01:19:21 pan.xxx.com [V1] Config options: Logfile at /var/log/pandora/pandora_server.log, Basepath is /etc/pandora/pandora_server.conf, Checksum is 0, Master is 1, SNMP Console is 0, Server Threshold at 5 sec, verbosity at 3, Alert Threshold at 60, ServerName is 'pan.xxx.com'
2017-04-06 01:19:21 pan.xxx.com [V1]  [ * ] Pandora FMS Enterprise module not available.
2017-04-06 01:19:21 pan.xxx.com [V1]  [ * ] Netflow daemon started.
2017-04-06 01:19:21 pan.xxx.com [V3] Warmup mode for unknown modules started.
2017-04-06 01:19:21 pan.xxx.com [V1] Server pan.xxx.com is the current master.

Nothing in pandora_server.errror either.  The agent I have on the server itself appears to be working just fine.

Quote
pan:/var/log/pandora# cat pandora_server.error
2017-04-06 01:19:21 - pan.xxx.com Starting Pandora FMS Server. Error logging activated.


http://wiki.pandorafms.com/index.php?title=Pandora:QuickGuides_EN:Remote_Monitoring&oldid=29706#ICMP_checks

Going through this I read "As you can see, there's a warning icon over the modules. This warning only means that no data has been received in the module yet, since it's just been added. Once the data begins to be received, this warning will disappear."  Yet not a word of what to do if it stays non-initialized / warning icon forever.  It's been 12 hours, whatever error is stopping it needs me to fix it... but the walk through doesn't mention it and searching the forums doesn't bring up many errors for the built in "Host Alive" or "Host Latency" tests that mention what the solution is.

Another thread mentioned that there was an Interval inside the modules assigned to "Pandora Gateway" that apparently need to be set in addition to the Interval set at creation (5 minutes).  So I went in and configured "Dynamic Threshold Interval" to 5 minutes as well which seemed redundant.  Still nothing.  I set the "Module parent" to "Host Alive", zip as well.  So I'm missing something obvious or I have something broken that isn't triggering an error log.  Any help would be appreciated.

Offline antonio.s

  • Administrator
  • Smart member
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: I cant get data :/
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2017, 05:47:28 AM »
Hello trahloc37,

The cause can be due to several things. First thing to check is if the system where your pandora server is installed actually can ping the remote system you want to monitor with host alive. If ping against that systems is working, then we can check some other things.

1. Check if the networkserver is enabled. It should if you are able to create the module, but it is worth it to check it just in case. Status of the networkserver can be checked on the tactical view. And you should find this line on the pandora_server.conf file:
Code: [Select]
networkserver 1

2. Check if the system firewall/selinux is causing problems. To discard this posibility you can just disable it (In CentOS 7: "service firewalld stop", in CentOS 6: "service iptables stop" ; in both of them: "setenforce 0").

3. The module should initialize on few seconds after creating it if there is no external networki issues (security, congestion, etc.).

4. If the module is doesn't initialize, it is possible to modify the verbosity value of the server to increase the detail level of pandora_server.log file. Setting it to 10 like this:
Code: [Select]
verbosity 10
And then monitoring the file pandora_server.log with "tail -f" for example should give us more information. Remember that the server daemon needs to be restarted after any .conf changes. To do it:
Code: [Select]
service pandora_server restart

Also, on the agent view there is a button to force the remote modules (fat green circumference), doing this with verbosity at 10 should display useful information on pandora_server.log. Remember to decrease the value of the verbosity paramenter after the testing, or the log may grow to problematic levels.

Kind regards,
Antonio.